In September 1957, Reverend James Lamberth was appointed by Bishop A. Frank Smith to organize a new church in the general area of Meyerland, Maplewood and Braeburn Terrace. A vacant tract of land consisting of 6.5 acres and with no street names to identify the location, (later known as corner of Beechnut and Renwick) valued at a cost of $39,271.62 including paving and sewers, was chosen.
The first name chosen for the church was St. James in honor of the first minister, but soon it was discovered that an inactive and in-debt church already had that name. The name of St. Philip’s was unique to the Texas Conference. Shafts of Wheat became the symbol of St. Philip’s and the spelling with only one “L” in Philip’s was emphasized.
The first service was held on October 27, 1957 in the auditorium rented from Condit Elementary School on South Rice, in Bellaire.